Archaeologists have this week been called in to Ty Coch after an interesting discovery was made during initial investigations into a new development at Llantarnam Business Park.
Surveyors found foundations of an annexe to Ty Coch, the over 400-year-old building HWM calls home.
The picture above, believed to have been taken in 1969, shows the farm as it once stood, including the since-forgotten annexe.
The team of archaeologists are currently deciding whether a full dig of the area is required to further discover the secrets it holds!
The Ty Coch farmhouse has a long and mysterious backstory.
Believed to have been built in 1613, making the building over 400 years old, Ty Coch was originally called Ty’r Castell Coch (the house of the Red Castle).
An interesting development in the history of Ty Coch was discovered in the 1960’s when the owner at the time, Roy Davies, was installing a new hot water system.
Demolition work uncovered the existence of what appeared to be a chimney flue running behind the main living room chimney. Unusually, the flue was not connected to any fireplace and was completely clean of soot!
Mr Hando believed that this flue was ventilation for a priest hole, often built to hide those fleeing religious intolerance and persecution.
It is understood that Father David Lewis, a renowned Catholic priest who was executed in 1679 for the crime of high treason (delivering Catholic mass) recorded before his death that he was apprehended at “a little house at Llantarnam” which many believe to be Ty Coch.
As well as a potential priest hole, Ty Coch also has a number of other additional features of interest including wonderful examples of masonry and stone work as well as hidden rooms and trap doors!
In 1980, Ty Coch was renovated and given grade II listed status as a 17th century house with good surviving interior detail.
Visitors to Ty Coch are always impressed by the charm of the building and of its history and we at HWM are really pleased to work in such unique setting!